FEES
$20
$10 (65 or older)


Pistol Permits are good for up to five years at the standard fee per year and expire on the anniversary of the issue date. Persons must apply in our office for the permit to be issued. This includes renewals.

The Sheriff shall require any person applying for a permit to pass a criminal background check.  Persons convicted of a felony, domestic violence, drug crimes and habitual drunkards, or suffer from a mental illness are not entitled to a permit. These background checks are conducted at the time of application and only take a few minutes.


Persons issued a pistol permit may carry the firearm on their person in a CONCEALED manner. When carrying a concealed firearm, the issued permit must also be carried on their person and presented to a law enforcement officer upon demand. 


The following states honor pistol permits from the State of Alabama.  This list changes on a continuous basis so please be sure to check back often.  If you are planning a trip to another state it is always a good idea to check their current laws pertaining to handgun concealment.  Remember it is your responsibility to be familiar with the laws in the state you are traveling to.  Some states may allow you to have a handgun while in their jurisdiction but may have some rules or regulations regarding how the gun and or permit must be displayed or concealed. More detailed information concerning gun laws in the State of Alabama may be obtained by visiting the Alabama Attorney Generals website.



Reciprocity States:

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Some states offer non-resident pistol permits and those are:

Arizona, Iowa, Florida, Maine, Utah, New Jersey, Washington, Pennsylvania and New Hampshire.